DIVINER “REALMS OF TIME” Review by Chris Palmer

Diviner is a heavy/power metal band from Greece. The band was founded in the summer of 2011 by Yiannis Papanikolaou [vocals] and Thimios Krikos [guitar]. The quintet was completed by George Maroulees [guitar], Herc Booze [bass], and Fragiskos Samoilis [drums].

After signing to Swedish label Ulterium Records, the band released debut album Fallen Empires in 2015. The album received good reviews around the world. Unfortunately, due to a heavy and conflicting schedule, guitarist Thimios Krikos left the band and Kostas Fitos replaced him.

The success of Fallen Empires had the writing juices flowing so, armed with a new guitarist, Diviner entered Devasoundz Studios in Athens together with producer Fotis Benardo in the summer of 2018. It was here that these Greek metallers began work on their second album. The results of which resulted in Realms Of Time, an album containing ten epic slabs of heavy/power metal, which runs for a total time of 47 minutes, 13 seconds and was released in June via Ulterium Records.

Truly I tell you, this record is EPIC! It is full of heavy/power metal that is melodic, yet also full of energy, power and emotion. Opening number “Against The Grain”literally bursts out of the blocks with a flurry of electric guitar riffs and a powerful rhythm that’ll get the adrenalin flowing immediately. “Heaven Falls” swiftly follows with its epic choruses, powerful vocal attack, and superb guitar-play. This track is one catchy monster that begs to be repeated numerous times. Impressive riffs announce the arrival of “Set Me Free”, which chugs along in style before a pounding rhythm and pummelling riffs propel you into the sublime “The Earth, The Moon, The Sun”. If you’ve never heard of these Greek metallers before, then this track is the perfect introduction to everything Diviner is. It’s full of energy and power yet contains excellent melodies and has an air of beauty about it. Absolutely superb!

The heavy/power metal excellence continues, as Diviner launch into the pounding chug-fest of “Cast Down In Fire”. They follow with the thunderous “Beyond The Border”, which is the longest runner on the album, with a time of 5:41. Like the previous tracks, this is another highly enjoyable listen, which sees Yiannis ever-present at the front with his powerful vocal attack. The twin guitar attack of Kostas and George continues to light that fire inside with their combination of heavy riffs and screaming solos. Meanwhile, the rhythm section of Herc and Fragiskos is so heavy it literally pummels the senses into oblivion.

“King Of Masquerade”continues where its predecessor left off, with more heavenly heaviness destroying whatever hearing you have left! You’ll find yourself shouting “Hail The King”together with the band as this number flies by in the blink of an eye. “Time” greets you with a flurry of guitars, bass lines, and drums as it leads you into penultimate pounder “The Voice From Within”, which will have you stomping around the room. The album closes with the magnificent ballad-type “Stargate”.

Overall, Realms Of Time sees a welcome return for Diviner. The record is heavy, melodic, and sincerely epic. The music is full of emotion, energy, power, and variety. For those who love heavy and power metal will certainly not be disappointed with this release. Fans of Diviner will obviously love this album, and rightly so, because it’s a superb album which thoroughly deserves a place in all heavy music fan’s CD collection.

This review was originally written for Metal Gods TV:



  1. Against The Grain
  2. Heaven Falls
  3. Set Me Free
  4. The Earth, The Moon, The Sun
  5. Cast Down In Fire
  6. Beyond The Border
  7. King Of Masquerade
  8. Time
  9. The Voice From Within
  10. Stargate


This review is the property of Chris Palmer, Metal Gods TV and The Metal Onslaught. It is strictly prohibited to copy any part of this review, unless you have all parties’ permission, or are the band/record label/PR company in question. Failure to adhere to these instructions will be considered as Plagiarism and you will be reported to the appropriate authorities.



Authorized To Crank It UP!!

Don't miss our magazines latest news, reviews and interviews. TMO Online Radio INCLUDED!